//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

My Tribute to Joan

As we all know, Joan Rivers passed away yesterday and I have to say I am ripped apart over it. I have never experienced something like this. I did not know her personally obviously but I felt like she was a friend. I know that many felt this way.

She is irreplaceable and I am so sad that we will never get to see again. I have had a lot of loss the last two years and I felt the same way that I felt when my grandparents passed away. 

I watched a good two and half hours of tributes and her E! True Hollywood Story and literally cried the entire time. I got to thinking about why it hit me so hard and I realized that Joan Rivers helped me in a time where I felt alone.

When I moved up here I had the hardest time adjusting. It was a huge adjustment and change to my life. I knew it was going to be hard but I never knew how hard it really was going to be. It was hard to be in my new home, it was hard meeting people and just feeling at home in this new place. It took me a long time to get to know people worth getting to know and often found myself coming home and doing things by myself. In those times I would go to my DVR and put on Fashion Police. It always put a smile on my face and had me laughing out loud. It helped me forget about what was going on in my head and helped me realize that there was more going on than my problems. She helped me realize that I could get through whatever it was that I was going through. Never in a million did I think this day was going to come where we would all have to say goodbye to this amazing woman. 

To everyone out there lets remember her and the great legacy that she has left behind. She has truly helped me believe that everything is going to work out if I continue to plow through and give it everything I’ve got.

 

“I have become my own version of an optimist. If I can’t make it through one door, I’ll go through another door or I’ll make a door. Something terrific will come no matter how dark the present.” – Joan Rivers

 

 

About A.J. Collazo

"So keep your head high, keep your chin up, and most importantly, keep smiling, because life’s a beautiful thing and there’s so much to smile about." - Marilyn Monroe

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 350 other followers

